red velvet whoopie pies

red velvet whoopie pies

When it comes to cooking, I’m definitely a believer in making things from scratch.
So my expectations for this recipe weren’t very high, considering it is based on boxed cake mix and canned frosting.
But after baking, I’m a believer–these whoopie pies are out-of this world–the cookies are crispy on the outside, crackly on top, moist and fudgy on the inside, so rich. Sandwiched with cream cheese frosting, they’re the ultimate indulgence. Move over, red velvet cake!

red velvet whoopie pies

Red Velvet Whoopie Pies
Adapted from Let’s Dish

Makes 8 very large cookie sandwiches, or about 20 medium ones

• 1 box red velvet cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)
• 2 large eggs
• ½ c canola oil
• 1 can cream cheese frosting

1. Preheat oven to 350°F and grease 2 cookie sheets.
2. In a large bowl, mix together cake mix, eggs, and oil.
3. Roll heaping tablespoons (or teaspoons) of dough into balls and place 2” apart on cookie sheet.
4. Bake for 10 min (6-7 min for smaller size), or until tops are crackled.
5. Cool completely before sandwiching together with frosting.
6. Enjoy!

red velvet whoopie pies

P.S.: I’m all into portion control and such, but really, I recommend going all out and making the big ones. Bigger is better!

red velvet whoopie pies

Edited: The recipe is now linked to Lisa’s Sweet’s For a Saturday link party. Check it out!

3 responses to this post.

  1. This looks delicious! I definitely want to dry this recipe when my oven isn’t on the fritz.

    Reply

  2. Mmm, those look delectable. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your whoopie pies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-10.html

    Reply

  3. Posted by numnumnum on March 27, 2011 at 12:58 am

    Thank you!
    I linked the recipe up. Everything looks delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

