vegan marble pound cake

vegan marble pound cake, originally uploaded by monpetitchoufleur.

I’m pretty sure a recipe like this cements my image as a (faux) vegan and pretty much shuns me from the omnivorous world. After all, I’m taking the beloved pound cake, originally called such because it require a pound each of butter, sugar, and eggs, and making it with tofu, for heavens’ sake. Oh yeah, and it’s also whole wheat, since I was trying to clean out the last of the whole wheat pastry flour I got from Whole Foods more than a year ago. Somewhere, Paula Deen is turning in her grave. Except she’s not dead yet.

Vegan Marble Pound Cake

Serves 8

Adapted from 1000 Vegan Recipes

This is a dense, moist cake, delicious cake. I decided at the last moment to make it a marble cake by swirling in some chocolate and I’m very glad I did. The chocolate flavor really stands out and it looks beautiful when sliced. I cannot attest for authenticity since the last time I had pound cake I was probably still in elementary school and it came from Quick Chek in an Entenmann’s blue box. Also, I made mine 100% whole wheat, so naturally the cake is slightly nuttier and more crumbly. If you want to go traditional, use white flour and omit the chocolate. I should note that I made this cake last night and it’s half gone already.

  • 2 c AP flour*
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • ½ t salt
  • 1 c drained soft tofu**
  • ½ c soymilk
  • ¼ c oil
  • 2 t vanilla
  • 2 oz unsweetened (or bittersweet) chocolate

 

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease an 8” loaf pan.
  2. Melt chocolate and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients.
  4. Blend tofu, soymilk, oil, and vanilla together until smooth. Pour into dry mixture and stir until just combined.
  5. Remove about 1 cup of the batter and stir in the chocolate.
  6. Alternately layer vanilla and chocolate batter in the loaf pan. Cut through a few times with a knife to create swirls.
  7. Bake for 40-50 min. Cool before slicing and serving.

*like I said, I used whole wheat pastry flour

**I used about 2/3 of a box of Mori-Nu firm silken tofu, squashed into a measuring cup.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by sabine on March 26, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    With vegan recipes I am careful with sugar. I have heard that our local sugar (Domino and maybe sugar in general) is mixed with bone char to whiten the product.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

