Extremely Simplified Eggplant (not) Parm

Eggplant parmesan is really tasty, but I’m not so keen on frying eggplant when it’s 90 degrees outside. So I invented this shortcut version, which takes about 20 minutes and cooks in the microwave. I understand that this dish doesn’t even have parmesan cheese in it and microwave ovens were probably put on earth by rabid squirrels who are trying to melt our brains, so don’t judge me.

 

IMG_0165

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Extremely Simplified Eggplant (not) Parm

Serves 4, 1 small casserole

1 large eggplant

1 cup tomato sauce

4 slices (4 oz) mozzarella cheese

  1. Cut eggplant into ½ inch thick slices. Cook (in microwave) in batches until completely tender.
  2. Layer eggplant in a small casserole dish, then top with sauce and cheese. Repeat.
  3. Microwave (or bake) until cheese melts and dish is heated through.

 

P.S. When I made this dish, I sprinkled some parmesan on top, but I really don’t think it adds much to the flavor, so I omitted it from the recipe.

P.P.S. Leftovers would probably make great sandwich filling.

Leave a Reply

